The Department of Animal Science UMM was established in 1987 under name Animal Husbandry department. Based on Decree of Kopertis Region VII Nomor : 173 / Q 1987, tanggal 22 Desember 1987Decree of the Establishment of the Animal Science Department. Location of the deprtment in campuss II on the street Bendungan Sutami 188A Malang. Since 1992, the location move in campuss III on the street Tlogomas Raya No. 246, Malang.

Decree of Ministry of National Education and Culture Number : 0648/O/1988, 24 Desember 1988, got register status and then when 26 April 1993 decree number 177/DIKTI/Kep/1993 got recognized status for animal husbandry department.

Equal Status for animal husbandry departmen obtain by Decree of ministry National Education and Culture Number 149/DIKTI/Kep/1995, on the date 5 Juni 1995. Acreditation status obtain in 1999. in 2002, Animal Husbandry obtain acreditaion "A" based on decree number 05030 / Ak - V- S1- 009/UMM CYT/V/2002, date 20 Mei 2002.

In 2007 animal husbandry reach the "A" acreditation again, based on BAN-PT No. 015/BAN-PT/Ak-X/S1/VII/2007. in the same year, 2007, animal husbandry department was changed to be animal science department. in 2009, animal science department is under the faculty of agriculture-animal science.

In 2017, animal science department were able to mantain acreditation "A" by ministry of Technology riset and Higher Education Number  2190/SK/BAN-PT/Akred/S/VII/2017. Currently, animal science department has 22 academic staffs (including the Head of the department) and 3 administrative staffs. General facilities and services such as libraries, computer labs, workshops, medical services, and student support service are administrated by the faculty and university office.